The Future Is Medieval

Kaiser Chiefs

The Future Is Medieval

This indie britpop band from Leeds return with their fourth album and a unique marketing strategy. Fans are invited to create their own tracklisting and album art via their website

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 7.5 |   The AU Review

    A rich tapestry of sound scapes, an improvement on their last offering and is definitely worth a listen, not to mention worth compiling
    Read Review

  2. 7.1 |   Beats Per Minute

    Has a dark edge to it
    Read Review

  3. 7.0 |   BBC

    A number of these songs (assuming you pick the ‘right’ ones) come across as more measured and mature, and a heck of a lot gloomier, than the upbeat bounce-alongs of old
    Read Review

  4. 7.0 |   FasterLouder

    Kaiser Chiefs seem to be reverting to the sounds found on their debut album, Employment, minus their trademark, sometimes lovable, sometimes annoying, “na-na-na-na’s”, and it’s pleasant return to form
    Read Review

  5. 6.0 |   The Independent

    It's a decent marketing gimmick, though any other benefits are less certain... having listened to all 20 tracks in their entirety, I can confirm that by track 17, one's attention desperately seeks any passing distraction
    Read Review

  6. 6.0 |   Independent on Sunday

    Any version of TFIM with a core of "Little Shocks", "Start with Nothing", "When all is Quiet", "Man on Mars" and "Heard it Break" won't go far wrong
    Read Review

  7. 6.0 |   Rave Magazine

    Future Is Medieval isn’t bad for band who have dated as quickly as they rose to prominence
    Read Review

  8. 6.0 |   Uncut

    It all sounds like a band working out who they are. Print edition only

  9. 6.0 |   Q

    They don't seize the moment to expand their horizons. Print edition only

  10. 5.0 |   The Digital Fix

    Leaves the listener conceding that a simple shrug may be the best response to the listening experience
    Read Review

  11. 4.0 |   Daily Telegraph

    A collection of mid-tempo, uninspiringly ponderous tracks
    Read Review

  12. 4.0 |   PopMatters

    These lads from Leeds clearly realize their business model needs tweaking, though it’s their songbook that benefit most from an about-face
    Read Review

  13. 4.0 |   Scotland on Sunday

    This less than smart record will be remembered for the smoke and mirrors long after the songs fade away
    Read Review

  14. 4.0 |   musicOMH

    Props for trying something different, but this doesn't boost the purpose of an album; it ends up harming it
    Read Review

  15. 2.0 |   No Ripcord

    A gloomy failure, the sort that would kill off bands with a lesser history
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Kaiser Chiefs: The Future Is Medieval

  • Download full album for just £5.99
  • 1. Little Shocks £0.99
  • 2. Things Change £0.99
  • 3. Long Way From Celebrating £0.99
  • 4. Starts With Nothing £0.99
  • 5. Out Of Focus £0.99
  • 6. Dead Or In Serious Trouble £0.99
  • 7. When All Is Quiet £0.99
  • 8. Man On Mars £0.99
  • 9. Child Of The Jago £0.99
  • 10. Heard It Break £0.99
  • 11. Coming Up For Air £0.99
  • 12. If You Will Have Me £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews