Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down

Ry Cooder

Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down

Solo album number fifteen from the prolific roots guitarist and eclectic music collaborator

ADM rating[?]


Nonesuch/Perro Verde
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   Uncut

    In the transition from imitator to originator, the old boy has made one of his best albums yet. Print edition only

  2. 10.0 |   The Observer

    He's become a Woody Guthrie for our times
    Read Review

  3. 10.0 |   Daily Telegraph

    If protest is what you want, Cooder has delivered it magnificently
    Read Review

  4. 10.0 |   The Independent

    His best effort by far since Chavez Ravine
    Read Review

  5. 10.0 |   The Guardian

    These are songs of a broken, divided society and the gap between rich and poor, but with the anger matched against humour
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   Blurt

    Ranks not only among his very best releases, but among the best socio-political albums ever made
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   BBC

    This is about as good and sustained a riposte to the grubby, grabbing times we live in as any artist has mustered, which makes it essential listening
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   musicOMH

    Cooder’s genius here, as on the Californian trilogy, is to reach toward historical sources and depression-era musical language that now seem painfully resonant today
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Music reclaiming a place at the heart of everything that matters. Print edition only

  10. 8.0 |   Q

    The heartening sound of an old master at work. Print edition only

  11. 8.0 |   The Scotsman

    Yet again, it has been left to one of the old campaigners to step up to the plate with an eloquent, intelligent, angry chronicle of the times
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    Cooder again defies the belief that music with a message can’t be fun
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    For those who are willing, this is a good place to start an education
    Read Review

  14. 6.0 |   Evening Standard

    A good man, a simple soul, nothing of interest to sing
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Ry Cooder: Pull Up Some Dust And Sit Down

  • Download full album for just £10.49
  • 1. No Banker Left Behind £0.99
  • 2. El Corrido de Jesse James £0.99
  • 3. Quick Sand £0.99
  • 4. Dirty Chateau £0.99
  • 5. Humpty Dumpty World £0.99
  • 6. Christmas Time This Year £0.99
  • 7. Baby Joined the Army £0.99
  • 8. Lord Tell Me Why £0.99
  • 9. I Want My Crown £0.99
  • 10. John Lee Hooker for President £0.99
  • 11. Dreamer £0.99
  • 12. Simple Tools £0.99
  • 13. If There's a God £0.99
  • 14. No Hard Feelings £0.99
  • 15. Pull Up Some Dust and Sit Down - Digital Booklet N/A
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews