Albums to watch

Life Is People

Bill Fay

Life Is People

First studio album since 1971 from the veteran English singer-songwriter who's been championed by Jeff Tweedy and Nick Cave

ADM rating[?]


Dead Oceans
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   The Independent

    It's as if the accumulated wisdom and compassion of a lifetime has been condensed into a dozen beautiful, heartwrenching songs
    Read Review

  2. 10.0 |   Daily Telegraph

    These are strange, beautiful songs of life and death, a collection dense with both contemporary urgency and timeless wisdom, as close to a late masterpiece as you could hope to hear from a veteran singer-songwriter
    Read Review

  3. 10.0 |   Mojo

    Bill Fay's first album in 41 years is astonishing. Print edition only

  4. 10.0 |   God Is In The TV

    Whilst unbearably sad in parts, the sheer quality and beauty on this album is strangely life-affirming
    Read Review

  5. 9.5 |   BBC

    Life Is People represents the return of a prodigal son you never knew existed. Its religious symbolism is inspired by Fay’s own relationship with faith, the result a stunning, profound, moving and soulful record
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    The album is essentially a superb affirmation of the dignity of the human spirit, with the power of Fay’s writing carrying it gloriously across its extraordinary field of vision
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   Uncut

    As great as the arrangements are, the most devastating performances come from Fay on his lonesome
    Read Review

  8. 8.5 |   Bowlegs

    Fay here recounts what is valuable in life, what remains with you as you get old and what seeps away. It’s one of those perspective notes, final maybe, and that gets our attention
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   Q

    The staggering return of a great lost cult artist. Print edition only

  10. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    To paraphrase the closing song, Life Is People is a cosmic concerto to stir the soul
    Read Review

  11. 8.0 |   Evening Standard

    A beautifully-crafted work of affirmative world-weariness
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   All Music

    Life Is People brims with compassion, vulnerability, and tenderness. It is not a comeback record but a late continuation and a great work of art
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   Pitchfork

    Pointed and urgent but never pushy, Fay's songs offer pleas for redemption in a world drunk on its promise, coupled with a reassuring contentment for simply having lived this life
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   musicOMH

    Fay consistently finds beauty in the world and is not afraid to express such sentiments. There are also moments of very real sadness - but a hard-won wisdom and acceptance cuts through
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    It seems like time has finally caught up with Fay, or rather, that time is ready to start regretting its negligence. He’s in our sight lines now, and hopefully he’ll stay there a while longer
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   The Scotsman

    The songwriting is old school, and the thoughtful lyrics rather hippyish in sentiment but Life Is People is a beautifully and sensitively orchestrated work
    Read Review

  17. 8.0 |   No Ripcord

    You need a little Bill Fay in your life. It’ll teach you a lesson about loss, redemption, all that shit
    Read Review

  18. 7.0 |   DIY

    As stirring as some of the material is, there are a number of tracks where the weighty lyrical themes are coupled with languid and ponderous melodies which drag the pace right down to a deathly crawl
    Read Review

  19. 7.0 |   PopMatters

    Although Fay’s fan base is likely to remain meager, those who Life is People touches are unlikely to hear a more inspiring album this year
    Read Review

  20. 6.5 |   Prefix

    Life is People, may not be the best Bill Fay, but hearing this there is no doubt about one thing: it's great to have him back. And hopefully this record is just the start of that return
    Read Review

  21. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    It's not without a few syrupy moments, and it would be a push to recommend it over the old records, but there are some fine songs here
    Read Review

  22. 6.0 |   The Observer

    These songs work a gentle charm, reflecting on life and mortality with an unhurried grace
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Bill Fay: Life Is People

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. There Is A Valley £0.99
  • 2. Big Painter £0.99
  • 3. Never Ending Happening £0.99
  • 4. This World £0.99
  • 5. The Healing Day £0.99
  • 6. City of Dreams £0.99
  • 7. Be At Peace With Yourself £0.99
  • 8. Jesus, Etc. £0.99
  • 9. Empires £0.99
  • 10. Thank You Lord £0.99
  • 11. Cosmic Concerto (Life Is People) £0.99
  • 12. The Coast No Man Can Tell £0.99
  • 13. Digital Booklet - Life Is People N/A
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews