Albums to watch

ADM Chart topper

Until The Quiet Comes

Flying Lotus

Until The Quiet Comes

Fourth album of experimental hip hop, jazzy electronica and trip hop collages from LA-based producer and musician FlyLo

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.7 |   Beats Per Minute

    UTQC is full of warm, subterranean orchestral instruments, pulsar percussive textures, glittering keys, hushed vocals, and distant cozy synth warbles. Even at its most upbeat, the album feels driven by a serene, submerged calm that’s rarely been part of FlyLo’s repertoire
    Read Review

  2. 9.1 |   A.V. Club

    After multiple listens, the album reveals itself to be as nuanced, as subtle, and a lot more digestible than its predecessor
    Read Review

  3. 9.1 |   Pretty Much Amazing

    It is intermittently energizing and hypnotic; spiritual and industrial; dense and spacious
    Read Review

  4. 9.0 |   Clash

    A masterpiece
    Read Review

  5. 9.0 |   All Music

    His most accessible and creative release yet
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   musicOMH

    Until The Quiet Comes is at once iridescent and ambiguous, luminous and impenetrable: an elegantly conceived and executed album which may well come to be seen as Flying Lotus’ finest work to date
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   DIY

    An album that is celebratory and desolate, dense and sparse, dark and colourful – a trippy, fantastical ride that only he could create a path for
    Read Review

  8. 9.0 |   Loud And Quiet

    This whole record is about balance: balance of the palate, levels, textures and even the use of guests, from Thundercat to Thom Yorke
    Read Review

  9. 9.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    A radiant example of an artist with the ability at his fingertips to close the schism between the true avant-garde and the leftfield mainstream, and in this respect Until the Quiet Comes is the record to date we’ll most likely crown his masterpiece
    Read Review

  10. 9.0 |   BBC

    For a person so sonically inclusive, Until the Quiet Comes further catapults Ellison into the cosmos and away from all things terrestrial. He’s the king of his domain, and there is no runner-up
    Read Review

  11. 9.0 |   NME

    This album is the sound of the future
    Read Review

  12. 8.5 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    It shows Ellison in full control of his formidable powers, and confident enough to rein them back when the moment demands
    Read Review

  13. 8.5 | mag

    A tumbling drum-beat, glittering synthesizers, and wobbling bass lines are still the ingredients from which the humming FlyLo-dreams are made
    Read Review

  14. 8.5 |   Pitchfork

    An experiment in how much can be stripped away while still sounding like Flying Lotus
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   The Quietus

    It's flawed, but unlike the vast majority of Ellison's current contemporaries, its flaws and contradictions remain as intriguing as its positive points, and lend themselves to repeat listens
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    It’s a tribute to what FlyLo has accomplished here that no matter how and how much you enjoy it now, Until the Quiet Comes only promises to keep on revealing more and more of itself
    Read Review

  17. 8.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    An album that is dark enough to spin at LA’s Low End Theory, yet smooth enough to garner listens from fans well outside of the club’s beat freaks
    Read Review

  18. 8.0 |   Evening Standard

    The man they call FlyLo is so smart it’s hard to keep up, but worth the trip
    Read Review

  19. 8.0 |   The Skinny

    Not as spectacular as its predecessor, but perhaps more accessible, and deeply satisfying
    Read Review

  20. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Quite literally, a dream album. Print edition only

  21. 8.0 |   Q

    A lush, almost psychedelic mood piece. Print edition only

  22. 8.0 |   Uncut

    Dreamy lightness is his thing, but occasionally a nocturnal feel intrudes. Print edition only

  23. 7.9 |   PlayGround

    Compared to “Cosmogramma”, it seems like a minor album –the ambition of the former was almost arrogant– but if we limit ourselves to the balance between the aim and the results, “Until The Quiet Comes” is a much more balanced, sincere album
    Read Review

  24. 7.5 |   Under The Radar

    It's another wildly successful effort from one of hip-hop/jazz/electronica/DJ culture/indie music/[fill-in-the-genre-blank here]'s most creative stars
    Read Review

  25. 7.0 |   Spin

    Fully formed songs suggest themselves, but too often prematurely dissolve, with vagaries always favored over the tangible
    Read Review

  26. 7.0 |   Rolling Stone

    A whirl of high-hats, static, hand claps and, quite possibly, subatomic-particle chatter
    Read Review

  27. 6.9 |   Bowlegs

    Like some of the more frenetic pieces of modern jazz, Until the Quiet Comes isn’t always an easy record to handle. Yet it still stands as an impressive set of songs that we can admire from a distance
    Read Review

  28. 6.0 |   State

    The record is structured more like a mix than an album, with most tracks not exceeding two and half minutes. The fundamental problem here is that the snippets are just simply too short for any single musical concept to fully develop
    Read Review

  29. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    FlyLo's albums tend to be slight, and this is no exception: these tracks feel less like fully fleshed-out compositions than lightly drawn sketches
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Flying Lotus: Until The Quiet Comes

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. All In £0.99
  • 2. Getting There (feat. Niki Randa) £0.99
  • 3. Until The Colours Come £0.99
  • 4. Heave(n) £0.99
  • 5. Tiny Tortures £0.99
  • 6. All The Secrets £0.99
  • 7. Sultan's Request £0.99
  • 8. Putty Boy Strut £0.99
  • 9. See Thru To U (feat. Erykah Badu) £0.99
  • 10. Until The Quiet Comes £0.99
  • 11. DMT Song (feat. Thundercat) £0.99
  • 12. The Nightcaller £0.99
  • 13. Only If You Wanna £0.99
  • 14. Electric Candyman (feat. Thom Yorke) £0.99
  • 15. Hunger (feat. Niki Randa) £0.99
  • 16. Phantasm (feat. Laura Darlington) £0.99
  • 17. me Yesterday//Corded £0.99
  • 18. Dream To Me £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews