Albums to watch

It's Blitz!

Yeah Yeah Yeahs

It's Blitz!

Synth-heavy dance-rock on the third album from the NY act

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
  1. 10.0 |   The List

    It’s Blitz! finds the Yeah Yeah Yeahs experimenting and having a blast so infectious that you’ll find yourself whipped into a tizzy from the get-go. Dizzyingly good.
    Read Review

  2. 10.0 |   Blurt

    It's Blitz is something akin to a musical racehorse that bursts out of the starting gate leaving you holding on for the ride of your life

  3. 10.0 |   Q

    Print edition only

  4. 9.0 |   The Fly

    It’s a thrilling record and impossible not to love
    Read Review

  5. 9.0 |   musicOMH

    Despite a stylistic conversion... That they emerge victorious is a tribute to the strength of these fine songs as well as some seriously glamourous production attitude. Debbie Harry would be proud.
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   Spin

    The alternative pop album of the decade.
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   Clash

    Ultimately answers all the questions facing the band... without losing what made us fall for them in the first place. ‘It’s Blitz!’ is the sound of an act refreshed, rejuvenated and raring to go
    Read Review

  8. 8.1 |   Pitchfork

    Much has been made of the album's heavy reliance on rock's eternal bugaboo, the synth, but often the synths are doing rock things rather than dance things
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    Though the band has always flirted with mainstream songwriting before, this is the album where they flat-out embrace their pop instincts, and—in the oddest twist of all—never have they sounded more at home.
    Read Review

  10. 8.0 |   Rolling Stone

    Isn't exactly a disco record, but it's as close as Yeah Yeah Yeahs are likely to get.
    Read Review

  11. 8.0 |   Scotland on Sunday

    Should have been further down the road to success by now, and this third album swaps quirky guitar pop for wacky synth-driven disco to get them there.
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   Daily Telegraph

    Third album from the arty New York trio is a much cleaner, less punky affair than their previous work.
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    Reveals just how much the trio have grown and how well they know exactly the strange angular planet that their music inhabits.
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   Independent on Sunday

    After the slight dog’s breakfast of the last Yeah Yeah Yeahs album, It’s Blitz! is a home win.
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   The Guardian

    The band's glittery new disco sound suits them very well. It's all cool, brittle catchiness, with a debt owed to Eat to the Beat-era Blondie.. Great stuff.
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    Older fans might find it a bit too intoxicatingly dance-led, but there’s a great sense of ambition scaled in this collection of sophisticated and shimmering dance-pop.
    Read Review

  17. 8.0 |   No Ripcord

    It is precisely due to the band’s finesse that It’s Blitz! is so refreshing, despite being an old sound wrapped in glitter veneer. 
    Read Review

  18. 8.0 |   Observer Music Monthly

    Boldly pushing synths centre stage while sacrificing none of their vitality.
    Read Review

  19. 8.0 |   The Observer

    What songs like ""Zero"" lose in uniqueness they gain in instant clubbability... this band aren't just there to look cool.
    Read Review

  20. 8.0 |   AU Review

    The sound of a band reborn with new momentum, and on an album that requires dancing, the message is clear: It doesn’t matter where you came from. Just keep moving.
    Read Review

  21. 8.0 |   Eye Weekly

    It’s Blitz is the sound of a band who’re about to storm the mainstream with their integrity firmly intact
    Read Review

  22. 8.0 |   The Scotsman

    Should have been further down the road to success by now, and this third album swaps quirky guitar pop for wacky synth-driven disco to get them there.
    Read Review

  23. 8.0 |   The Sunday Times

    Another fine album from a mystifyingly underrated band that contains the odd foray into more electronic and dancier territory.
    Read Review

  24. 8.0 |   The Times

    Portrays a band high on the realisation that, given half a chance, the chemistry between them will flood into whatever equipment they use to channel it.
    Read Review

  25. 8.0 |   Uncut

    Despite its obvious debt to the ’80s and its (appreciated) nods to the trio’s own past, it’s their most modern, innovative record yet. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs have once again raised the bar.
    Read Review

  26. 8.0 |   Rave Magazine

    ...the album is at its best in its quieter moments, like the low-key Soft Shock, and the shivering, beautiful Skeletons, which is easily the best indie kid make-out song since Maps
    Read Review

  27. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Print edition only

  28. 7.8 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    It’s Blitz is certainly a bold new disco twist on the Yeah Yeah Yeahs own particular brand of angular art house rock
    Read Review

  29. 7.0 |   The Quietus

    If lessons are learned and certain elements taken forward from It's Blitz!, then future recordings could well attain the grandiose potential touched upon here.
    Read Review

  30. 6.0 |   The Scotsman

    They remain their own toughest critics, so it is maybe not that surprising that they should choose to keep themselves creatively lubricated with an audacious musical volte-face.
    Read Review

  31. 6.0 |   State

    While it certainly strays a little from their punk-pop roots, It’s Blitz! has enough genuine quality to keep dragging you back for just one more listen. Nuff said
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Hear it

Preview & download it

Yeah Yeah Yeahs: It's Blitz!

  • Download full album for just £8.49
  • 1. Zero £0.99
  • 2. Heads Will Roll £0.99
  • 3. Soft Shock £0.99
  • 4. Skeletons £0.99
  • 5. Dull Life £0.99
  • 6. Shame And Fortune £0.99
  • 7. Runaway £0.99
  • 8. Dragon Queen £0.99
  • 9. Hysteric £0.99
  • 10. Little Shadow £0.99
  • 11. Soft Shock £0.99
  • 12. Skeletons £0.99
  • 13. Hysteric £0.99
  • 14. Little Shadow £0.99
  • 15. Faces £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews