Albums to watch

ADM Chart topper

Summertime '06

Vince Staples

Summertime '06

Debut solo album from the Long Beach, California rapper and member of Hip hop trio Cutthroat Boyz

ADM rating[?]


Def Jam
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   The FT

    Foreboding bass, intricate percussion and claustrophobic loops snare the listener in a gothic world of death and revenge from which the only exit is the terminal variety
    Read Review

  2. 10.0 |   A.V. Club

    A triumph not just for Staples, who has never sounded this engaging, but also for executive producer No I.D., who takes big risks behind the boards
    Read Review

  3. 9.1 |   Pretty Much Amazing

    Staples is an esteemed songwriter, weaving in and out of day-to-day hardships with an uncompromising drift that hits hard without compromising the austerity of the subject matter
    Read Review

  4. 9.0 |   Spin

    Staples’ wickedly backward upbringing is the focus of Summertime ’06, which could well be the fiercest, most ferociously focused street-oriented double rap album since UGK’s Underground Kingz
    Read Review

  5. 9.0 |   Exclaim

    Summertime '06's coming of age tale is complemented perfectly by production that finds the nuance in Staples' stories and matches it
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   No Ripcord

    Part of what makes Summertime '06 effective is how it moves in quick succession with hardly a dull moment, narrating things as they are without artifice or fear of cleansing his less attractive parts
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   Spectrum Culture

    Staples has never apologized for his blood-spattered past, but Summertime does reveal a beating heart beneath the ice cold exterior Staples has perfected
    Read Review

  8. 9.0 |   The Music

    An honest and dark album about growing up in Long Beach, gang life and love, Staples doesn’t hold anything back
    Read Review

  9. 8.8 |   Pitchfork

    Summertime '06 is breathtakingly focused, a marathon that feels like a sprint
    Read Review

  10. 8.5 |   The 405

    Vince rapturously integrates dense and conscious-filled narratives of his inner life, packaged vibrantly over layered and unpredictable production executively produced by No I.D
    Read Review

  11. 8.5 |   Under The Radar

    A vital entry from a burgeoning new star
    Read Review

  12. 8.3 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Stories of childhood gang membership, of his father’s drug dealing and incarceration, of addiction and pain and fear roll together like clouds of smoke thanks to the unified but varied production
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   Beardfood

    No I.D. continues to be the king of creating a mood
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   Gig Soup

    His shadowy hood nihilism is as prominent as ever – reflected in the eerily uneasy atmosphere that remains a constant threat throughout this ruthless debut
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    The Long Beach rapper steps out with a coming-of-age story on his bold debut album full of stark beats and penetrating lyrics
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   The Guardian

    In a year of impressive solo rap albums, Staples has managed to create one that’s arguably the most idiosyncratic of the lot
    Read Review

  17. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    A remarkable album, full of vibrant characters, real- life drama and questions in search of answers
    Read Review

  18. 7.0 |   Rolling Stone

    It adds up to a hard-hitting 20-track portrait of life and love in a mad city
    Read Review

  19. 6.0 |   Tiny Mix Tapes

    The dynamic range and narrative flow suffer from No-ID’s overweening zeal and Staples’s laid-back acceptance of arbitrary parameters
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Vince Staples: Summertime '06

  • Download full album for just £9.49
  • 1. Ramona Park Legend Pt. 1 £0.99
  • 2. Lift Me Up £0.99
  • 3. Norf Norf £0.99
  • 4. Birds & Bees £0.99
  • 5. Loca £0.99
  • 6. Lemme Know £0.99
  • 7. Dopeman £0.99
  • 8. Jump Off The Roof £0.99
  • 9. Señorita £0.99
  • 10. Summertime £0.99
  • 11. Ramona Park Legend Pt. 2 £0.99
  • 12. 3230 £0.99
  • 13. Surf £0.99
  • 14. Might Be Wrong £0.99
  • 15. Get Paid £0.99
  • 16. Street Punks £0.99
  • 17. Hang N' Bang £0.99
  • 18. C.N.B. £0.99
  • 19. Like It Is £0.99
  • 20. '06 £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews