Albums to watch

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings

Kurt Cobain

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings

Album of home recordings and demos from the former Nirvana frontman and soundtrack to the film Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck

ADM rating[?]


Universal Music
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 8.0 |   Tiny Mix Tapes

    The tracks are diverse and career-spanning, presenting us with a new vantage point from which to view one of the most fascinating cultural figures of the 90s
    Read Review

  2. 8.0 |   Rolling Stone

    It’s surprising how much of it is compelling, even revelatory
    Read Review

  3. 6.0 |   NME

    Maybe it’s not What Kurt Would Have Wanted, but for the rest of us, it is a valuable glimpse into an unknowable process
    Read Review

  4. 6.0 |   Q

    While there are a few pops and crackles of magic it's often dead air. Print edition only

  5. 6.0 |   NOW

    If the goal was to render Cobain an artsy oddball more than a rock god with a Midas touch, then mission accomplished
    Read Review

  6. 4.0 |   The Guardian

    Inferior takes of known songs at best, hugely unfunny joke songs and honest-to-goodness fart noises at worst … the Cobain barrel-scraping must now be complete
    Read Review

  7. 4.0 |   Spectrum Culture

    Listening to Cobain’s lo-fi home dabbling, sloppy strumming and the vulnerable warble is an eerie and unsettling experience
    Read Review

  8. 4.0 |   Spin

    It’s not that The Home Recordings didn’t need to exist, per se, though one can only hope it’s the bottom of the vaults, but it feels more invasive to listen to than Kurt Cobain: Journals did to read
    Read Review

  9. 4.0 |   Pitchfork

    The Home Recordings marks the point where the exploitation enters the absurd
    Read Review

  10. 3.0 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    There’s little here in the way of new insight
    Read Review

  11. 2.5 |   Consequence Of Sound

    This fails as an album in almost every conceivable way, jettisoning any sense of unity or context in favor of positioning itself as an aural complement to Morgen’s documentary
    Read Review

  12. 2.0 |   All Music

    The fascination curdles and it's hard not to feel unclean, as if you're snooping through your beloved brother's desk
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings

  • Download full album for just £9.49
  • 1. The Yodel Song £0.99
  • 2. Been A Son £0.99
  • 3. The Happy Guitar £0.99
  • 4. Clean Up Before She Comes £0.99
  • 5. Reverb Experiment £0.99
  • 6. You Can’t Change Me / Burn My Britches / Something In The Way £0.99
  • 7. Scoff £0.99
  • 8. Desire £0.99
  • 9. And I Love Her £0.99
  • 10. Sappy £0.99
  • 11. Letters To Frances £0.99
  • 12. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle £0.99
  • 13. She Only Lies £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews