Albums to watch


The Stranglers


Album number seventeen and first for six years for the veteran new wave band (minus original guitarist Hugh Cornwell) who formed in 1974

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.0 |   music OMH

    Hearing it for the first time no-one could doubt this is The Stranglers, and yet the tracks seem utterly fresh
    Read Review

  2. 8.0 |   BBC

    Longstanding fans of the band will no doubt be able to immediately fall in line with Giants’ odd and unique groove
    Read Review

  3. 8.0 |   Mojo

    A band effortlessly inventive and still full of invective. Print edition only

  4. 7.0 |   The AU Review

    Redemption from the grind of time is sweet indeed and this album provides it for the most part with only a few hiccups
    Read Review

  5. 7.0 |   AU Review

    With a drummer who turned 70 last year, we can’t be far from the end of the Stranglers but, unlike their peers, they’ve done themselves no disservice. Fair play
    Read Review

  6. 6.0 |   Uncut

    It's a solid rather than spectacular effort. Print edition only

  7. 6.0 |   Q

    They've kept their distinctive shape and sound. Print edition only

  8. 6.0 |   The Digital Fix

    Proof positive that unfashionability is no barrier to delivering exactly the kind of album their long-time fanbase will appreciate
    Read Review

  9. 4.0 |   DIY

    The musical equivalent of ‘painting-by-numbers’.
    Read Review

  10. 4.0 |   The Skinny

    Often sounds more like four session musicians engaging in half-hearted pastiche than a serious attempt to pursue new directions
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Preview & download it

The Stranglers: Giants

  • Download full album for just £5.49
  • 1. Another Camden Afternoon £0.99
  • 2. Freedom Is Insane £0.99
  • 3. Giants £0.99
  • 4. Lowlands £0.99
  • 5. Boom Boom £0.99
  • 6. My Fickle Resolve £0.99
  • 7. Time Was Once On My Side £0.99
  • 8. Mercury Rising £0.99
  • 9. Adios (Tango) £0.99
  • 10. 15 Steps £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews