Albums to watch




Debut album of guitar-driven dream pop and shoegaze from the Brooklyn quartet led by Beach Fossils' touring guitarist Zachary Cole Smith

ADM rating[?]


Captured Tracks
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.0 |   musicOMH

    In a time when there is much hand wringing about the future of guitar music amid fears of being swamped with nostalgic revivalism and a chronic lack of ideas, a record like Oshin is one to be cherished
    Read Review

  2. 9.0 |   NME

    Songs that take their own precious time to get where they’re going, and do so with the precision of a military operation. Drums and guitars smothered with reverb, vocals distorted to mesmerise and hypnotise
    Read Review

  3. 8.5 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    It’s rare for a band to hit upon something this special so early on in their career and then be able to hone that initial energy and excitement into a debut as accomplished as this
    Read Review

  4. 8.3 |   Pitchfork

    Oshin isn't just a gorgeous and unusually melodic dream-pop record; it's an interesting experiment in whether a band based on voice/guitar/bass/drums can rely on the guitar to carry the song's meaning
    Read Review

  5. 8.3 |   Pretty Much Amazing

    An album of meticulously crafted melodies that ebb and flow with purpose, oscillating seamlessly between shimmering pop, pounding new-wave, and dream-inducing shoegaze
    Read Review

  6. 8.3 |   A.V. Club

    Oshin emphasizes a charmingly low-budget kind of grandeur, like Ride’s Nowhere reconstructed via laptop
    Read Review

  7. 8.1 |   Beats Per Minute

    Diiv is forging a distinct voice here among a crowd of familiar faces
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   Under The Radar

    Smith hasn't found what he's looking for throughout this epic 13-song journey. Yet he's torn his guts out and seemingly had the time of his life while fitfully trying
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   Bowlegs

    A record you can get lost in, with songs that float on the periphery rather than existing in plain grey reality
    Read Review

  10. 8.0 |   Uncut

    Effervescent jangle-peppers make their debut. Print edition only

  11. 8.0 |   Clash

    It’s an album in the true sense, each song a building block on an overall journey
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   Blurt

    Dive into the glistening turbulence of this big, beautiful Oshin
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   The Fly

    DIIV exist in the hazy, blissful end of the shoegaze spectrum, where every day is a stoned slice of summer
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   Sputnik Music (staff)

    All of the songs on Oshin are good. A lot of them are really good. So good are these songs that you don’t realize they’re all sort of the same until you’ve gone through, like, seven of them, and even then it’s difficult to fault DIIV for sticking to one sound since they do it so well
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    If there’s one thing that Smith has nailed, it’s the knowledge that less is more; there are few opportunities to over-indulge in the songs on Oshin. You can wallow in them, briefly, but they don’t stay with you. They have some other place to be
    Read Review

  16. 7.0 |   All Music

    Oshin is a pleasant listen, especially for anyone partial to Beach Fossils or the Captured Tracks sound in general
    Read Review

  17. 7.0 |   Spin

    Shoegaze-y NYC tyros swoon sweetly, shine brightest when the hazy guitars and cloudy vocals are offset with stiff motorik
    Read Review

  18. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    It's not landfill indie so much as cloud-formation indie: a sequence of beautiful shapes, billowing magnificently, only to blow away on the breeze
    Read Review

  19. 6.0 |   The Observer

    What rescues Oshin from being a set of aqueous dream-pop search engine tags is the band's latent Krautrock bent
    Read Review

  20. 6.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Oshin’s peaks and troughs are conducive to slightly different kinds of meditation
    Read Review

  21. 4.0 |   No Ripcord

    Oshin is very nice. It’s great at being nice. And because it’s 2012 and because it’s tediously unassuming, people will listen to it in the background once or twice while skimreading blogs and forget about it within a year
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

DIIV: Oshin

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. (Druun) £0.99
  • 2. Past Lives £0.99
  • 3. Human £0.99
  • 4. Air Conditioning £0.99
  • 5. How Long Have You Known £0.99
  • 6. Wait £0.99
  • 7. Earthboy £0.99
  • 8. (Druun Pt. II) £0.99
  • 9. Follow £0.99
  • 10. Sometime £0.99
  • 11. Oshin (Subsume) £0.99
  • 12. Doused £0.99
  • 13. Home £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews