Albums to watch

The Ghosts of Highway 20

Lucinda Williams

The Ghosts of Highway 20

Twelfth studio album from the Americana legend, with guitar work from Greg Leisz and Bill Frisell

ADM rating[?]


Highway 20 Records
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   The Irish Times

    There is nothing morbid about Williams’s artful journey through the maze of personal travails
    Read Review

  2. 9.3 |   Paste Magazine

    Adult work, Ghosts hits the gut, the soul and the grey matter
    Read Review

  3. 9.0 |   PopMatters

    On her superb new album, Lucinda Williams takes the wheel for a memory trip down Highway 20
    Read Review

  4. 9.0 |   Slant Magazine

    Williams's location-specific concept album serves as a reminder that her best songs need not inhabit one specific place, geographically or emotionally
    Read Review

  5. 8.0 |   Pitchfork

    Williams plays stylistic hopscotch here, jumping between brooding rock and bouncing gospel, swaying balladry and drifting folk
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   The Music

    The key to prolific output is making sure the quality never drops off and being able to maintain the listener's attention. Williams does that brilliantly
    Read Review

  7. 8.0 |   The FT

    The songs continue the high quality of Williams’ work in recent years, encompassing country-blues, tributes to Woody Guthrie and Bruce Springsteen and moody roots-rock
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   The Guardian

    Intimate, pained and powerful
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   The Arts Desk

    A delight for those who like to mix pleasure with pain
    Read Review

  10. 8.0 |   Uncut

    Bruising, emotional, majestic
    Read Review

  11. 8.0 |   Rolling Stone

    Williams grapples with mortality on a stark, emotionally raw alt-country masterpiece
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   Spin

    She’s never sounded more alive
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   All Music

    She's moving into one of the most fruitful periods of her recording career as she approaches her fourth decade as a musician
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   Spectrum Culture

    It’s refreshing to hear Williams taking those risks, but what’s even better is hearing her succeed at what she sets out to do
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   NOW

    The title track nails it best, conjuring spectres and a hallucinatory, southern Gothic soundscape, bone-chilling at its peak
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   Q

    She knows that nothing lasts forever, but also that everything lingers on. Print edition only

  17. 7.5 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Folk rock legend captures a concrete portrayal of the most unsure moment of life: the end
    Read Review

  18. 7.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    Her lazy, beaten drawl is an acquired taste...but Williams’ tear-stained tales are so vivid and evocative it’s hard not be haunted
    Read Review

  19. 6.0 |   Mojo

    12 snapshots of the ghosts who inhabit the highway and it's exit ramps. Print edition only

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Preview & download it

Lucinda Williams: The Ghosts of Highway 20

  • Download full album for just £7.49
  • 1. Dust £0.79
  • 2. House of Earth £0.79
  • 3. I Know All About It £0.79
  • 4. Place In My Heart £0.79
  • 5. Death Came £0.79
  • 6. Doors of Heaven £0.79
  • 7. Louisiana Story £0.79
  • 8. The Ghosts of Highway 20 £0.79
  • 9. Bitter Memory £0.79
  • 10. Factory £0.79
  • 11. Close the Door on Love £0.79
  • 12. If My Love Could Kill £0.79
  • 13. If There's A Heaven £0.79
  • 14. Faith & Grace £0.79
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews