Albums to watch


Alicia Keys


Sixth album from the Grammy-winning urban soul singer working with husband Swizz Beats and Mark Batson

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.0 |   PopMatters

    The best Alicia Keys album to date
    Read Review

  2. 8.0 |   The Guardian

    Despite an undertow of glum earnestness, Keys has never sounded so committed
    Read Review

  3. 8.0 |   The Independent

    Her work is grounded in a melodic appeal that’s almost magnetic
    Read Review

  4. 8.0 |   The Observer

    In a year of superb, politically charged albums by black American artists, Alicia Keys’s sixth record is a standout, on which her signature piano takes second place to her urgent voice
    Read Review

  5. 8.0 |   NME

    Gone are the radio-devouring ballads, replaced by some looser, fresher, cooler tunes
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   The FT

    Album includes an empowerment anthem with a swaggering rap beat covered in a dusty vinyl crackle
    Read Review

  7. 8.0 |   State

    Alicia Keys has opened a wound with this record, it may be a little too raw for unit munching chart enthusiasts but it’s going to last
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   The Arts Desk

    Here ia an intimate, personal album drawing on stories of women – mothers, addicts, teachers, lovers – of all sexualities, colours and creeds
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    There’s still trademark soft soul and widescreen balladry in the wash and Keys is still more than capable of working up an atmospheric storm as the bracing Holy War shows
    Read Review

  10. 7.0 |   Exclaim

    Here is empowering at times — it's strong in craft and intent, and will likely perform well — but the hope that Keys will deliver that iconic, instant classic album continues on
    Read Review

  11. 7.0 |   Rolling Stone

    Downplays her classical training in favor of a grittier R&B edge
    Read Review

  12. 7.0 |   Slant Magazine

    Alicia Keys seems at once more awake and relaxed than ever on her first album in four years
    Read Review

  13. 7.0 |   The Music

    This is deeply felt, often compelling stuff
    Read Review

  14. 6.7 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Alicia Keys has never shied away from bold lyrics or moving ballads. The difference is that Here sees her embracing herself, from outer scars to inner struggles
    Read Review

  15. 6.5 |   Pitchfork

    She has earned the right to throw caution to the wind. It’s hard to shake the feeling that this record was a missed opportunity to do so
    Read Review

  16. 6.0 |   Clash

    A record that feels at war with itself, both musically and motivationally
    Read Review

  17. 5.0 |   All Music

    At points, Keys' invigorated energy level and need to simply expel ideas, rather than refine them, lends the album a hollow quality
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Alicia Keys: Here

  • Download full album for just £4.49
  • 1. The Beginning (Interlude) £0.99
  • 2. The Gospel £0.99
  • 3. Pawn It All £0.99
  • 4. Elaine Brown (Interlude) £0.99
  • 5. Kill Your Mama £0.99
  • 6. She Don't Really Care_1 Luv £0.99
  • 7. Elevate (Interlude) £0.99
  • 8. Illusion Of Bliss £0.99
  • 9. Blended Family (What You Do For Love) £0.99
  • 10. Work On It £0.99
  • 11. Cocoa Butter (Cross & Pic Interlude) £0.99
  • 12. Girl Can't Be Herself £0.99
  • 13. You Glow (Interlude) £0.99
  • 14. More Than We Know £0.99
  • 15. Where Do We Begin Now £0.99
  • 16. Holy War £0.99
  • 17. Hallelujah £0.99
  • 18. In Common £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews