Albums to watch

We Got It From Here... Thank You 4 Your Service

A Tribe Called Quest

We Got It From Here... Thank You 4 Your Service

Sixth and final album (and first since 1998) from the Queens, NY hip-hop pioneers featuring guest appearances from André 3000, Kendrick Lamar, Jack White, Elton John, Kanye West and Anderson Paak

ADM rating[?]


RCA / Epic
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   State

    A group who haven’t made any music together since 1998 have actually managed to make one of the best albums this year
    Read Review

  2. 9.1 |   Consequence Of Sound

    By and large, We got it from Here… has the classic Tribe sound: a warm and crisp confluence of East Coast hip-hop, jazz, and more, all mixed and mastered impeccably.
    Read Review

  3. 9.0 |   Exclaim

    Overall, We Got It from Here... Thank You 4 Your Service proves that after all this time, A Tribe Called Quest can, in fact, still kick it. It's a goodbye on a high note. Thank you for your service
    Read Review

  4. 9.0 |   Pitchfork

    Reinvigorates the group’s discography without resting on nostalgia
    Read Review

  5. 9.0 |   PopMatters

    Solidifies the group’s track record for absolute greatness, adding an unexpected sixth turn to a career that followed one aesthetic path but was always moving
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   FasterLouder

    Thank You 4 Your Service sees A Tribe Called Quest revive what they do best, and beyond – bridging the gap between carefree and critical, classic and contemporary, timeless and topical, return and departure
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   Paste Magazine

    Phife gets the last laugh: a finale more jamming than Bowie’s, Prince’s and Cohen’s combined
    Read Review

  8. 8.5 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    Quest were all about beats, rhymes and life, and this album has that in spades. They may have grown older but their wit and skill with the mic have not eroded
    Read Review

  9. 8.5 |   Beardfood

    A Tribe Called Quest say goodbye in the most classy, impressive way
    Read Review

  10. 8.5 |   Gig Soup

    The memory of Phife understandably looms large over the project, but they honour their comrade in the best way possible by surpassing all expectations
    Read Review

  11. 8.3 |   Pretty Much Amazing

    With each of Tribe’s albums up until now, it’s pointless to dissect it track by track when really, it should be taken as one, singular groove
    Read Review

  12. 8.3 |   A.V. Club

    It’s hard not to feel a flood of gratitude for the mere existence of this record
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   The Guardian

    For those who value Tribe’s contribution to music, this is a record to be grateful for
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   The Independent

    Despite the hiatus, this guest-laden double-album finds the group still very much engaged, rattling out tongue-twisting, articulate verbal flows dealing more with social realities than self-aggrandising brags and outlaw fantasies
    Read Review

  15. 8.0 |   The Irish Times

    There are guests galore in the engine room but the real pleasure principles come with the Tribe come on strong with righteous, hard-hitting tones
    Read Review

  16. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Ultimately it’s the original, immersive Tribe vibes that conquer all
    Read Review

  17. 8.0 |   Crack

    Best of all, Tribe have as much to say as they have engaging ways of saying it
    Read Review

  18. 8.0 |   Clash

    Thank you for your service, Tribe
    Read Review

  19. 8.0 |   The Observer

    Wriggling in on a live-sounding drum kit and a buzzing hook, We the People covers similar territory, tackling the divisiveness brought about by gentrification
    Read Review

  20. 8.0 |   Rolling Stone

    One of the most timeless rap groups ever has returned with a record that doesn't sound like 1996, but doesn't sound like 2016 either. It's imbued with the same feeling of "Push It Along" that they've had from the beginning
    Read Review

  21. 8.0 |   DIY

    Three decades after forming, A Tribe Called Quest use collaboration to create another timeless record, backed by lyrical content that belongs in today’s troubled times
    Read Review

  22. 8.0 |   NOW

    Star attractions are nice but it’s Tribe, Tip and his ambitious productions that super-charge this record
    Read Review

  23. 8.0 |   Q

    For the most part superlatively good. Print edition only

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

A Tribe Called Quest: We Got It From Here... Thank You 4 Your Service

  • Download full album for just £6.99
  • 1. The Space Program £0.99
  • 2. We The People.... £0.99
  • 3. Whateva Will Be £0.99
  • 4. Solid Wall of Sound £0.99
  • 5. Dis Generation £0.99
  • 6. Kids... £0.99
  • 7. Melatonin £0.99
  • 8. Enough!! £0.99
  • 9. Mobius £0.99
  • 10. Black Spasmodic £0.99
  • 11. The Killing Season £0.99
  • 12. Lost Somebody £0.99
  • 13. Movin Backwards £0.99
  • 14. Conrad Tokyo £0.99
  • 15. Ego £0.99
  • 16. The Donald £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews